First Date Disaster … well, that was awkward

I decided to write few blogs about my own random awkward things from my past, since I am having a great day.

I don’t go to too many first dates, so I am not used to the “game”. This was my first or second date from online dating. I am also shy. 

I was looking forward to meeting her. We talked online, getting to know each other. It was very interesting talking with her online. She was born in a different part of the country and cheered for her “home town” football team. She has a team jersey and she was a big fan all her life. 

Finally, we agreed to meet for a coffee date at some coffee/tea shop. She only had 2 pictures online, so I didn’t exactly knew what she looks like. I knew she had beautiful long dark hair. Lets say that her name is Kelly (its not). When I got there, I saw a woman with dark hair sitting alone at the table, waiting for someone. I walked over and asked her: “Are you Kelly?”. She said yes, smiled, and started to stand up. When she did, I realized that she was much taller than me. At that point my brain went into overdrive trying to make sense of it all: “I remember that her height on the site was 5’6 … did I read it wrong and it’s actually 6’5 or did she make a spelling mistake”.  I told my self that “it is what it is, lets have fun anyway”. While I was overthinking, it looked like she asked me a question. Since I did not hear that, I just said “Yes” (I don’t know why)

I bought coffee to go for both of us and we went outside for a walk. Something felt wrong. I decided to start a conversation by asking her about her favourite football team. Her reply simply shocked me to the point where I did not know what to say or do. She said “I don’t like football”. πŸ€”πŸ˜³πŸ˜±

At that moment I realized that I was literally on a date with a wrong person (so was she, but it was really my fault)

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls – LISTENING IS IMPORTANT! Her question, which I did not hear, was “Are you Jeff?”, which I blindly answered “Yes”. (btw, Jeff is also a made up name)

I always act calm and collected especially in stressful situations (again I don’t know why or how). I don’t remember how many times I apologized (somewhere between 100 and 200) and explained what happened. Like an idiot, I handed my cup of coffee to her and ran back. There I saw the Kelly that I was supposed to meet. She was 5’6 or so. We repeated the process but decided to grab a table and stay inside. I noticed that there was a (tall) guy sitting at the table right next to us. Few seconds later I realized that HIS NAME WAS JEFF! Kelly that  I met earlier returned (with both coffees) and sat at the table right next to us. They were now drinking coffee that I paid for. 

I can laugh at myself and have no problems at pointing out my own mistakes. I told the story to the “real” Kelly. I also introduced myself to Jeff and explained everything. (I hope things went well for them). He said “Thank you for the coffee”. We all had a good laugh. Actually its was a great conversation starter and almost completely got rid of “nervous tension”, making both of us feel “at ease”. It turned out to be a great date. We spent 3 or 4 hours chatting … it was fun. We even went on few dates, but unfortunately things didn’t work out)

I don’t know what I was embarrassed more of … my awkwardness or the fact that I paid for their date. Either way, it turned into a great story. 

I learned few things from this:

  1. online dating was more popular than I thought. you could meet great people there. in fact, (the other) Kelly and Jeff met on the same dating site as me and Kelly. 
  2. first dates are almost always awkward, but it’s possible to find something positive out of that. Mistakes happen, but they could be blessings in disguise.
  3. I though that my pride was gone. history. But it turned out to be the opposite. So, don’t stop always, trust yourself, and respect yourself and everyone around you … no matter what, no matter how bad things go.
  4. (most importantly ) Always LISTEN and pay attention when you are on your first date or any date.

True story. I hope you enjoyed it.  Let me know what you think or if you can top my awkwardness.

Have a great day! πŸ˜€ 

2 thoughts on “First Date Disaster … well, that was awkward

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

